Turkey - country on two continents

Multifaceted and gorgeous

Some basic facts about Turkey:

  • The official name of the country is the Republic of Turkey. The capital is Ankara, whereas Istanbul is the largest city in Turkey and is the third most populous urban area in Europe. 
  • The currency used in the country is the Turkish Lira.
  • Geographically, Turkey sits in two continents, Europe and Asia, although around 97% of it's land area is on the Asian side. 
  • Turkey is a popular tourist destination and home to 16 World Heritage Sites:
  1. Archaeological Site of Ani (2016)
  2. Archaeological Site of Troy (1998)
  3. Bursa and Cumalıkızık: the Birth of the Ottoman Empire (2014)
  4. City of Safranbolu (1994)
  5. Diyarbakır Fortress and Hevsel Gardens Cultural Landscape (2015)
  6. Ephesus (2015)
  7. Great Mosque and Hospital of Divriği (1985)
  8. Hattusha: the Hittite Capital (1986)
  9. Historic Areas of Istanbul (1985)
  10. Nemrut Dağ (1987)
  11. Neolithic Site of Çatalhöyük (2012)
  12. Pergamon and its Multi-Layered Cultural Landscape (2014)
  13. Selimiye Mosque and its Social Complex (2011)
  14. Xanthos-Letoon (1988)
  15. Göreme National Park and the Rock Sites of Cappadocia (1985)
  16. Hierapolis-Pamukkale (1988)
  • The ancient city of Troy was located in modern day Turkey.
  • There are eight countries that share a border with Turkey including Armenia, Azerbaijan, Iran, Iraq, Syria, Bulgaria,  Greece, and Georgia.
  • Just over 80 million people live in Turkey (80,694,485) as of July 2013.
  • The highest point in Turkey is Mount Ararat 5137 m (16,854 ft).
  • Modern day Turkey was formed in 1923 by Mustafa Kemal Ataturk following the fall of the Ottoman Empire. Mustafa Kemal was adorned with the title 'Ataturk' or 'Father of the Turks' after his contributions to the country's independence.


Source: whc.unesco.org